Snowflake Pricing: Plans, Costs & What You Actually Pay
Snowflake publishes its credit prices: Standard $2.00, Enterprise $3.00 and Business Critical $4.00 per credit on AWS US East, with on-demand storage at $23.00 per TB per month. A monthly bill is credits consumed plus average stored data.
Quick answer
Snowflake publishes its prices. Two meters, not one. Compute is billed in credits consumed, priced per edition. Storage is billed per TB per month on the average compressed data stored. Virtual Private Snowflake is quoted separately..
Free option: The pricing page links to a trial sign-up but does not state a credit amount or trial length on the page itself.
Trial: A free trial sign-up link appears on every edition card; the amount of trial credit is not published on the pricing page.
Plans at a glance
| Plan | Price | What it is |
|---|---|---|
| Standard | $2.00 per credit | Entry-level edition with core functionality: managed elastic compute, automatic encryption, Snowpark, data sharing, compressed storage with Time Travel. |
| Enterprise | $3.00 per credit | Everything in Standard plus multi-cluster compute, granular governance and privacy controls, and extended Time Travel windows. |
| Business Critical | $4.00 per credit | Everything in Enterprise plus Tri-Secret Secure, private connectivity, and failover and failback for disaster recovery. |
| Virtual Private Snowflake | Talk to Sales | All Business Critical features inside a completely separate Snowflake environment, isolated from all other Snowflake accounts. |
| On-demand storage | $23.00 per TB/month | Charged on the average amount of storage used per month after compression. Capacity storage discounts are published separately in the consumption table. |
How billing works
The billing metric is: Two meters, not one. Compute is billed in credits consumed, priced per edition. Storage is billed per TB per month on the average compressed data stored. Virtual Private Snowflake is quoted separately..
Fees that are easy to miss
- Credit prices vary by cloud provider and region. The figures above are the AWS US East (Northern Virginia) list prices shown by default.
- Storage is measured after compression, which means the bill depends on how well your data compresses, not on how much you loaded.
- Virtual Private Snowflake is not priced on the page and has to be quoted.
- Pre-paid capacity is an alternative to on-demand purchasing; the discount table sits in the Service Consumption Table rather than the pricing page.
How the vendor frames its pricing
- Snowflake charges for compute and storage separately, so a warehouse that is running but idle still consumes credits while stored data accrues a monthly fee.
- The three editions are feature gates, not volume tiers: the credit price rises with governance and compliance capability, not with usage.
- The page presents list prices by region, which is why the same edition has different numbers depending on where your account runs.
Before you sign: what actually moves the price
- Work out credits per month first, then multiply by the edition price. A pure arithmetic example using list prices: 100 credits on Standard is $200 per month in compute, and 1TB of stored data adds $23. That is $223 before any discount — arithmetic on published rates, not a quote.
- Storage is charged on compressed volume, so the same raw dataset can produce very different bills depending on schema and clustering.
- Enterprise costs 50% more per credit than Standard. Multi-cluster compute and extended Time Travel are the features that price difference buys.
- Business Critical doubles the Standard credit price. Regulated workloads that need Tri-Secret Secure and private connectivity have no cheaper edition.
- Check the region selector before budgeting: the numbers on the page change with cloud provider and region.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a Snowflake credit cost?
Standard is $2.00, Enterprise $3.00 and Business Critical $4.00 per credit on AWS US East, per the list prices on the pricing page.
How much does Snowflake storage cost?
$23.00 per TB per month on demand, calculated on the average storage used per month after compression.
What is the difference between the editions?
Standard covers core functionality, Enterprise adds multi-cluster compute and granular governance, and Business Critical adds Tri-Secret Secure, private connectivity and failover for regulated data.
Is there a free trial?
Every edition card links to a trial sign-up, but the pricing page does not state how much trial credit is included or how long it lasts.
Why does the price change when I switch region?
Snowflake publishes list prices per cloud provider and region. The figures shown depend on the region selected on the page.
Where this data comes from
Primary source: https://www.snowflake.com/en/pricing-options/ — retrieved 2026-10-22.
Prices change. Every figure here is a snapshot taken on the retrieval date shown on each page. Confirm with the vendor before signing.